Ordurak and Switzerland

by

When the Wilderness of Ordurak adventure and gazetteer were in development, I was looking for a real world cognate that would be a comparison that would help with understanding the size and scale of the area. Today, somewhat randomly, I took a map of Switzerland and dropped it under a 5-mile hex grid, and it fits pretty well into the 12×18 size map (one-quarter Alusia, if you will).

Wilderness of Ordurak and Switzerland at the same scale in the image below. The hex mapped area is about 190 miles by 125 miles in each.

This is, I suppose, all in conjunction with thinking about new DragonQuest adventures and material. I’m using the break over the next few days to work on some ideas for the Water Works sequel adventure I’ve been calling GasWorks (but that won’t be the final title for it, I promise). And some things are starting to come together with that. So stay tuned for more about that in 2024.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment